Keeping on

When I say I’m going to blog 3 to 4 times per week, I mean it! This is post #3 this week. What. Up. So let’s get to it!

I made red velvet crinkles, as promised.

Line those ingredients up.

I figured out how to insert a link! This recipe can be found at Two Peas and Their Pod, a baking blog often referenced by my other blogs which I will surely have to explore more soon. Yes, there’s cake mix in those ingredients. No judgment. It’s easier! Frankly, I didn’t feel like getting cocoa powder and red food coloring all over the place today. There’s also cornstarch pictured up there, but actually, you use flour.

Mix flour and cake mix together. Then add vanilla, eggs, and oil. The dough will be thick and glossy.

RED. And shiny. Not like a firetruck.

Break off tablespoon-ish pieces of dough, and roll into balls, then roll in powdered sugar. Bake at 350 for about 10 minutes, and that’s all!

I took a decent photo!

Bear with me when I rejoice about good photos. I don’t have a fantastic camera, nor do I always catch the good light in my house, and so my shooting abilities are limited. The sun managed to make an appearance late this afternoon, and the light in the kitchen was perfect.

It’s like being at the eye doctor. Option 1…

…or Option 2?

Those photos are essentially the same, but in one, the light is warmer/yellower, and in the other, it’s cooler/whiter. Very happy with the light distribution and focus in both.

In one of my earlier posts, I mentioned that I’ve been trying to get some reading done while I’m home. So far, I have finished both The Hunger Games and Catching Fire, and I’m nearing the end of Half the Sky.

A lot of you have probably already read all of Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games trilogy, so I’ll spare everyone a summary. I read both of those books in less than 2 days each. Holy goodness. They’re probably the most exciting, plot-driven books I’ve read since Stieg Larsson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo trilogy. Is the writing necessarily on par with Larsson and other books I’ve read in between? No. It’s not the best use of language I’ve ever seen- although it’s certainly not the worst (the winner of that prize may be the Twilight series). But the plot. The story. The twists and the turns! I was honestly surprised several times, and only set the books down when a) Donald Driver was on the finals of Dancing with the Stars and b) my little brother was reading them. I highly recommend them as a summer read, and I can’t wait to go pick up Mockingjay.

Half the Sky is a nonfiction piece about the necessity of female empowerment on a global scale. I took a class on international development this past semester, and two of our class readings were from this book. The authors, Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn, are well-respected journalists and incredible writers. The most memorable and inspiring readings from my class were emotionally compelling, driven by clear data, and grounded in a practical plan of action. The entire book is constructed just like that. It’s not overly sensitive or cautious: they don’t beat around the bush, and they admit that they are politically incorrect when they have to be (i.e., how men in the developing world tend to manage and invest money worse than women). I appreciate their honesty, transparency, and straightforwardness. It speaks to my feminist side and makes a strong case from various angles for a global effort to lift up women in the developing world. The point: raising girls equal to boys and ensuring that they have the same opportunities could end poverty. Read the book if you want to know exactly how. I highly recommend this to anyone interested in international affairs, international development, poverty, and women’s rights/feminism.

How do people do this blogging thing every day? Jeez.

Random thoughts: If you pin a lot of things to Pinterest from one site in a short amount of time, they will think you are a bot and ask you to complete one of those Captcha things. I’m sorry I love Modcloth, Pinterest…

It’s really exciting when one of your favorite bloggers responds to a dumb question you had about shipping baked goods.

Chile is five weeks away. Moment of panic. Resume life.

That’s all I’ve got right now. Don’t know what’s coming up for next week, but surely some baking or cooking will be involved, as well as further Chile preparations.

You know the drill: comment! Pretty pretty please with whipped cream and a cherry on top!

Have a happy weekend, everyone!

With love,

Gaby

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Keeping on

  1. Colleen

    No panic! Let the fact that everyone who’s ever gone would go back in a heartbeat comfort you. P.S. I can’t stop making brownie cookies.

    • Molly

      I can’t remember if we talked about this or not, but if you haven’t read them already you should read the Uglies trilogy by Scott Westerfield. I felt that they were a comparable story to The Hunger Games, but were more developed in their writing style and characters.

      • Definitely already read all of them. But do you have other suggestions? My dad insists I begin exploring John Irving by reading A Prayer for Owen Meany. Didn’t you read that?

Leave a Reply

