How a journey begins

There is a country stretched across the sky

strewn with the rainbow’s superstitious carpets

and evening’s vegetation:

that way I go – not without some fatigue,

treading grave loam, fresh from the spade,

dreaming among these doubtful greens. – Pablo Neruda

I leave tomorrow for Chile.

But before I get to all of that, I wanted to take a moment to jot down my last blog post until I get to Chile. I found myself thinking about how I got here, writing this blog, starting this journey.

It begins when:

Your awesome next-door neighbor freshman year goes abroad to Chile and tells you all about it.

You somehow know half of her study abroad class and end up working on a group project with three of them.

Your professor, for whom you almost became a double-major and double-minor, tells you that the Spain program is “fun,” but you should go to Chile.

Your parents and everyone they know happen to know someone from Chile.

You read a couple of amazing books about the country.

Your favorite poets in Spanish-American Lit were Pablo Neruda and Gabriela Mistral.

You’ve dreamt about this since you realized you really could speak Spanish.

You fill out a couple of applications.

You get some interviews.

You stalk the Facebook photos of every single person you know who studied in Chile.

Your brother does a folk fair project about Chile.

You know that you have the enthusiastic support of all your family and friends.

You realize that while a lot of this is terrifying, and some of it might be uncomfortable or painful, all of it is actually an incredibly exciting opportunity that you cannot possibly pass up. You are going there for a reason. It is part of a much bigger journey that didn’t begin here and won’t end when you return. This is just a part of it that you won’t ever forget.

My posting schedule will change now that I will be abroad. I will try to post briefly as soon as I can when I get to Linares, where I will be until the end of July. I will definitely post when I move into my house in Santiago and recap the whole Linares experience. In short, I will let you know I’ve arrived next week, but I won’t have time to write anything lengthy until the end of July or the beginning of August.

See you on the other side.

With love,

Gaby

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “How a journey begins

  1. Ali Nunez

    Gaby your journey reminds me of my journey to this country. I arrived with two suitcases and a job. I didnt know a soul, but met my best friends, you know who they are….your mother being one of them! Enjoy this wonderful adventure! I can’t wait to follow you ‘on the other side’…….

Leave a Reply

