Ocupada

Oh hello.

I am still in Chile. I am still working on this blog. It’s just that the “study” part of study abroad has been a little more important lately and I’ve been short on time. I’m really ocupada right now.

I’m still short on time, but here’s a little resumen of what I’ve been up to lately:

I’ve been in Chile for more than 3 months. We’re about to hit the 3 month mark here in Santiago, specifically. What is happening??

There was a tremor- in Spanish, a temblor. That means a little earthquake, or more like seismic activity that isn’t quite as strong as an earthquake. It was scary. I was at my service site and I thought a big truck was driving by and was just really noisy. And then things started to shake. It probably lasted all of 15 seconds, and really, the shaking wasn’t that strong, but still. I was a little shaky after that. And this was a little one.

They (as in, Chileans) say that weird weather, like what we’ve been experiencing lately, corresponds to greater tectonic movement- aka, when the climate changes from warm and nice to cold and rainy, like it did the week before the tremor and like it was here this weekend. And this weekend’s weather was really quite a big change. It was in the 70’s and sunny all last week. And then Saturday it got cool and drizzled. And Sunday was cold and boy, did it pour.

So I’m just gonna review what to do in case of an earthquake…

Another gringo in one of my classes heard me speaking in English and was floored. He turned around to me and said, “Wait a minute. I totally thought you were Chilean,” based on the one time I’ve asked a question in class. Keep in mind, folks, I don’t look Chilean. At all. That means my Spanish must be pretty good, right? Right?

When it gets sunny here, it gets SUNNY. The ozone layer is weaker here, so the UV rays are actually stronger. You can sense it, too- I swear it’s actually brighter than it is at home. This means fair folks like me must absolutely always wear sunscreen on sunny days. Some people wear it even when it’s cloudy. But seriously- if you come to Chile in the spring or summer, bring the sunscreen and put it on any day you’ll be heading outside.

I spent most of this weekend hanging out with my host family, including the girl who lived with them a year ago, which, because she was also their daughter at one point, makes her my other host sister. I learned that describing her as my host sister is much easier than “the girl who lived with my family this semester last year.” We made a surprise cheesecake for our parents’ anniversary and bonded over our mutual love for our family.

Easy cheesecake. Recipe later!

I’ll write more about this later, but let me tell you, it’s pretty much the best thing ever to hang out with someone who has lived with your family before. You are reminded that you’re not the only one who’s done this before. Like, you’re not the only one who doesn’t know how to open the milk (it comes in a box. No, not a carton. I’ll show you sometime.). Or that salad and ice cream are indeed essential components of the family diet.

It also got me thinking about how I’m going to come back here myself after I leave. But that talk can come later.

Here’s what the mountains looked like today after the rain:

Puffy clouds. Clear blue sky. So much white snow. It’s unreal how beautiful and stunning it is.

Hope you’re all well! Look out for a bigger, better post soon.

With love,

Gaby

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

