It’s on my to-do list

Well, that might be how this works now that school has started again. It has been around 2 weeks since I last posted. For the 20 of you who read this blog, I apologize if I have left you lacking something to do/a way to procrastinate. The reason I am writing this right now, at 11:45 PM when I have class in the morning, is because it is on my to-do list, and if I can’t cross it off it will drive me nuts. (I promise all my homework for tomorrow is done.)

I figured since it’s just about the end of the month now, it’s a good time to review how I’m doing on my New Year’s resolutions.

FOOD: Eh. Food has been okay. My food habits haven’t deteriorated, but I could do better. I am refocusing this week. I need to find a way to stop being so hungry at night. I eat dinner between 5 and 7, but I often don’t go to bed until 12 or later. Somewhere in those 5 hours I really want a snack, and I overindulge more often than I should. Suggestions are appreciated!

EXERCISE: I have recommitted to exercise. I’m solid on my cardio; I’m good friends with the new elliptical in my dorm’s workout room, and I’m going to start running on the treadmill again this week. I also walk pretty much everywhere, and I am now living on the third floor of my building- yay stairs! For this week, I will make a better effort to lift weights and work my abs.

BEAUTY: Two days a week, I have classes which require me to wear clothes I can get dirty and/or move around in. On the other three days of the week, I have more formal classes and my job. So I’ve been fairly professional looking on those days. And I’m trying to find outfits that I can wear for the other classes that I can change quickly (i.e., jeans to sweats, take a sweater off, etc.) so I don’t look like a total slob.

WORK BETTER: I haven’t had a lot of work yet, so I’ve been taking it easy- I haven’t been to the library yet, I’ll do stuff with the TV on, I’ll leave Facebook up in the background, and so on. This week, I’m going to try and get into the library, maybe with friends who want library buddies, even if I don’t have a lot of work. I know I will focus better when I am removed from my room. I just haven’t had the motivation to do that yet.

LIFE: I am saying yes more! I have been out and about on the weekends, nothing crazy, but I have been hanging out with new and old groups of people and trying to take advantage of things while I have the time. I’ve been to a hockey game, a free concert, the student film festival, an ice carving, a Chile reunion party, gone to Spanish Mass, attended a current events discussion- it’s keeping me busy! And I’m getting busier. I have various meetings and events every day this week. This is why I took it easy my first couple of weeks. The storm is coming.

I’ve also had to practice a little bit of patience. I did get a little bored during my first week, since I had no work but there wasn’t much else to do during the week. It’s also interesting coming back to old friend groups and not seeing as much of the people you just spent half a year with in a foreign country. I’ve had to remind myself that it’s fine, it’s perfectly normal, it’s nothing personal, not to see everybody and do something every single night.

And then the theme of big life decisions has started to come up again. I’ve been reminded of some things I really love to do, but I just don’t have as much time for anymore- like theater. But I don’t have time for it because I’m making time for other stuff I’m really excited about- like my Chile internship. It’s a really awesome situation to be in, actually, as much as it sometimes bums me out. I am taking a break from one thing to explore something new, something fun, something potentially powerful and life-changing. Something that could actually turn into the rest of my life. Unfortunately, we can’t always do everything we want to. We can only hope that we get to choose between awesome stuff, and that the best option or the “have-to” isn’t something we don’t enjoy.

Oh. I’ve also done a little bit of baking.

Brownie chip cookies! Specially made for the first day of classes and work.

Brownie chip cookies! Specially made for the first day of classes and work.

Carrot cake cake balls! Not pretty. But delicious.

Carrot cake cake balls! Not pretty. But delicious.

I’m hoping to make some banana muffins tomorrow night to bring in to work. I’ve got some dining hall bananas here smelling up my room, just about to perfect muffin/bread ripeness. We’ll see how that goes!

Chile-related thoughts: it’s been freezing here. The early part of last week was brutal. Chileans have no concept of how cold this actually is. I know, the damp cold they have in their winter is hard to shake because there’s no central heating, and it might be the coldest I’ve been in my life. But I never felt like my thighs or nose were going to freeze right off of my body after a 10-minute walk outside.

Also, the fact that it’s summer there and my host family is going on a beach vacation this week while I walk around in cold and slush makes me incredibly jealous. I mean, it’s 86 and sunny there every single day. We swing between the 40’s and -10, and rarely is there sun. Why did I leave? And why am I going back in their WINTER?!

The other day I craved some Chilean-style salad: for example, raw shredded cabbage and carrots, tossed in olive oil and lemon juice and sprinkled (or showered, depending on the mamá) with salt. I also wanted avocado, but that’s not just the other day, that’s like everyday.

I’ve been drinking agua de hierbas (well, Sleepytime tea) most nights. But really, I would just love me some plain agua de menta (mint) or manzanilla (chamomile) right now.

I had a dream the other night that I was leaving for the airport to go back to Santiago in an hour, and I had absolutely nothing packed. I woke up panicked. Goodness.

I will try to write a little more again soon! Please comment and leave me your thoughts. I love hearing from you- whether I know you or not!

With love,

Gaby

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “It’s on my to-do list

  1. Dad

    New Year’s resolutions are promises you make to yourself at the beginning of the year, break, and renew at Lent.

Leave a Reply

