I’m still here!

Oh hi there!

I’m still here. But see, I’m also a college student, which means that if I’m posting really often, I’m probably not doing the things that I should be doing. And yeah, it’s finals week, so in theory this is the least likely time for me to be posting. But I have my finals under control, my schedule for the day is planned out, and I have time for this right now!

Fun story: I go back to Chile in less than two weeks. That’s right. For those of you who may have forgotten, I have an internship this summer with an NGO in Santiago! I will be working full-time, from 9 to 6:30 every day, like a real adult. I get to enjoy both rush hours on the metro AND the bus, in the dark, in the cold, both ways. Yes, friends, it’s very quickly turning into winter in Chile. I’ve been following their weather, and right now we’re actually at the point where the weather here in the Midwest is very similar to the weather in Santiago: lows in the 40’s and highs in the 70’s with lots of sun and occasional rain. The difference is that by the time I leave my dorm for the day and am walking around outside, it’s usually warmed up to the 60’s, so I can dress for the high temperature. That will not be the case in Santiago. I will need to dress for all of the temperatures, ranging from 45 degrees (with no central heat!), all the way to 75 and sunny. In the same day. Layers are key, friends. The first time I realized that I’d have to dress for that range of temperatures, I asked my host mother what to wear, and she said, “todo tu closet.” Helpful.

But change in seasons aside, I’m very excited to be going back. I have my moments, as I do before any major event or travel, where I wonder if I’ve made the right choice, if I’m qualified for this job, or if I should be home this summer. But then I remember a few things:

1) This is a huge opportunity. It’s fully funded, so while I’m not getting paid, I shouldn’t lose any money on this either. This internship will show me if I really want to work in this international development gig or not.

2) My university and the NGO chose ME, just ME, out of all the other applicants in a highly competitive pool. They saw something there that they liked, and they think that I can do this job. So I can! And I will!

3) Yes, I’ll miss my family tons. But I miss  them no matter where I am, whether it’s here at school a few hours away or 11 hours of flights away. And I get to go back to my Chilean family, which should make the whole resettlement process that much easier.

There are tons of other reasons I’m excited to go back, of course. I miss speaking in Spanish. I miss living in a big city. I miss my friends who are down there studying. All of this should add up to one memorable summer- well, winter.

As we all move on to the summer, to the next school year, to new jobs or new schools for those who are graduating, here’s a quote I saw on Facebook the other day:

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” Marianne Williamson

Don’t play small! Play big! Don’t let insecurity and uncertainty hold you back. We were made to be awesome and do awesome things- so go out and do them!

Here is what life looks like lately:

The tabernacle in the Basilica at school, after the Easter Vigil.

The tabernacle in the Basilica at school, after the Easter Vigil.

We spent a lot of time in here during Holy Week.

We spent a lot of time in here during Holy Week.

Graffiti on the side of a restaurant downtown.

Graffiti on the side of a restaurant downtown.

Pretty accidents.

A gift from someone in my office. Dangerous.

Downtown on a Thursday night.

Proof that you can make your own Oreos in a dorm kitchen!

The magnolias trying to bloom on a cloudy day.

Another excellent finals week/general life quote.

More baking! These are cake mix snickerdoodles. They mostly tasted like cake and not a lot like snickerdoodles.

The magnolias in full bloom on a beautiful blue day.

I live in a really pretty place.

Get in there and smell those flowers!

Teensy and pink. Just a happy thing to see.

Kudos to whoever it was that put this motivation outside of the library before finals week!

Good luck with finals, friends! Make time to enjoy the beautiful weather- spring has finally, finally sprung!

Expect pre-departure updates soon. 🙂

With love,

Gaby

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I’m still here!

  1. Trish Nunez

    Love this post!!!!! You are awesome and so gifted…keep shining that glorious light of yours!! God Bless you, Momma

Leave a Reply

