Asentándome

Two posts in one day. I feel like writing today.

As I mentioned previously, I’m back. And I am loving it. LOVING it. I had a wonderful week at home, don’t get me wrong. I certainly had my moments where I wondered if I just shouldn’t stay at home all summer and relax, enjoy the good weather, bake. And I’m sure there will be moments in the next ten weeks where I’ll get homesick, and frustrated with the metro, and livid with the micro (the bus), and be absolutely done with rain and cold and 5:00 PM sunsets.

But for now, I am living up this honeymoon phase. I’m eating palta with almost everything. Every cup of tea and even Nescafé is delicious. I love the hubbub and the smell of the centro. It’s so exciting to be walking around everywhere and know where things are. I walked to and from the metro yesterday almost without thinking (don’t worry, I was aware of my surroundings, I was not being unsafe). I remembered how to get to the mall from the metro! I even went to the park to work out yesterday! Certain words and phrases are coming back to me, so I’m sounding a little more Chilean as I get settled back in. All right, so I kind of sound like a gringa who’s seeing everything for the first time and anything that’s not United States means it’s AWESOME. But that’s not how I feel. I feel like someone who is really excited to be home.

There were moments during the first day that were surreal. One second I was in Milwaukee. The next I was on a plane. The next thing I knew, I was walking out of customs with my bags, I turned the corner, and there was my host mom! Then I was in the car and we’re flying down the carretera, and the sun wasn’t even up yet. Then we got home, and it blew my mind how everything smelled exactly the same, most everything was in the same place, and here I was, eating breakfast at the table, in the same seat I sat in at every meal. The sameness has been mind-boggling, but also incredibly comforting. I get to come back knowing everything I learned over five months! There’s almost no awkwardness this time. I’ve come home, to my other house, my other family.

I was making sandwiches last night for dinner, and my host mom suddenly looked up from her work and said, you know, it’s like no time has passed at all. It’s true! It is just like coming home from college at the end of a semester. And I’ve done it twice now, in two weeks. You know you belong somewhere when you can come back and it’s like you’ve never been gone at all. And I am blessed enough to be able to do that in two places.

Here is what the first couple of days have looked like. (I am sorry for the lack of gorgeous food photos. I have mostly been eating with my family, and my best, prettiest meal was shared with our extended family. I didn’t want to be the rude gringa photographing her meal.)

Guys! Look! MOUNTAINS! The world is not flat!

Guys! Look! MOUNTAINS! The world is not flat!

I wonder how many times the neighbors have seen me taking this picture...

I wonder how many times the neighbors have seen me taking this picture…

One of my favorite things about this house: laying around in bed all morning.

One of my favorite things about this house: laying around in bed all morning.

It is fall here. Which makes me want all things pumpkin and cinnamon. And Thanksgiving.

It is fall here. Which makes me want all things pumpkin and cinnamon. And Thanksgiving.

Can I just say that I missed out on fall last year, so the sight of fall leaves is pretty dang great.

And yet, the roses are still in bloom.

And yet, the roses are still in bloom. Makes up for missing the start of rose season at home.

I start my internship tomorrow- yes, my job, which is the real reason why I am here. I hope you are all having fabulous weeks, and thanks for following along so far!

With love,

Gaby

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Asentándome

Leave a Reply

