So at this time last year…

I was very deeply asleep in a freezing retreat house in Linares, spending my first night in Chile.

This is the post I wrote describing those first couple of days. The title quite accurately describes my memories of that first day off the plane and in another country where not everyone speaks my language. I remember being cold, eating a lot, and not having a clue what almost anybody was saying. I seriously doubted my 8+ years of Spanish. I was generally very confused, exhausted at the end of each day, had to put my trust in a lot of people I barely knew, and yet was impossibly in love with just about everything.

And that was just Linares, guys. That was only two weeks out of the now seven-plus months this journey has entailed. I’ll be more reflective when I hit my one-year arrival in Santiago later this month. But man. A year. A whole YEAR has passed since I got to Chile for the first time.

And now I’m back. What does that even mean?

Actually one of the only decent pictures I could find from my early days here. If you want more, go to the archives!

Actually one of the only decent pictures I could find from my early days here. It says Linares. If you want more, go to the archives!

With love,

Gaby

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “So at this time last year…

  1. That’s a good amount of time to be traveling, I bet you’ve gotten a real feel for what the country is like an not just through the eyes of a traveler : ). I hope to some day make it there! There is so much incredible stuff to do and see!

    • Hi Pablo! Thanks for the comment. It is a good amount of time to be traveling, and I do feel like I know the country and culture pretty well. Nevertheless, I think I need to accumulate a year in total here, or be here for another long-term stay, before I can really claim to be bicultural.
      Chile is amazing! If you’re very outdoorsy, there are incredible sights to see in the north (the Atacama desert) all the way to the south (Patagonia, which bumps up against Antarctica.).

Leave a Reply

