Moments

Hi friends!

It’s been about three weeks since I last posted. That could actually be a lot worse. How are all of you? I hope you’re well. Life is moving along as normal here on campus. I’ve been here for more than a month now. I am living in a single room and am full in the swing of being an RA.

I LOVE IT. It was absolutely the right decision for me. My girls are wonderful and open and sweet. The freshmen aren’t afraid to ask for help when they need it, and the upperclasswomen are fabulously helpful and welcoming. The other hall staff are fantastic. It’s just a great team.

We took a bonding trip to the beach before move-ins started. Nicest lake beach I've ever been to.

We took a bonding trip to the beach before move-ins started. Nicest lake beach I’ve ever been to.

Crafting to decorate my section. This was a project.

Crafting to decorate my section. This was a project.

Doing all the RA stuff constantly throws me back to my own freshman year. I look back on all of the things- like saying goodbye to my parents, getting homesick, having my first exams, taking the swim test- and I think, wow. I did all of that. And got through it. And now I’m here.

I remember how much older my RA looked to me my freshman year, and then I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror during Freshman Move-In, and I thought, oh man. I AM that old now. And I wear a badge and go on rounds and everything. My freshman RA is visiting me next weekend, and that will really be crazy!

I made mostly vegan banana muffins. In my dorm's kitchen!

I made mostly vegan banana muffins. In my dorm’s kitchen!

As I go around doing the typical first semester things, like the first football game and hearing the marching band at 9 AM on game day, I remember how much I missed all of this. Remember, a year ago, I was not here! I was in Chile! A whole year ago. But time isn’t flying the same way that it did there. That’s probably not how it will seem in about a month when we go on fall break, but right now, things seem to be moving along at a normal pace. Not too slow, but not too fast either.

From a late-evening walk.

From a late-evening walk.

And from another one.

And from another one.

And one of my most favorite sunsets ever.

And one of my most favorite sunsets ever.

In the midst of RA life and being a student, I’m also applying to jobs. Yes, that is really happening. The plan is to have a full-time job by the time I graduate. I bought a suit last week, and I wore it to a career fair, and I networked with recruiters and submitted resumes. It’s a pleasant surprise when you put together your resume and realize that you actually have a lot more experience than you thought, and it’s comforting to know that those recruiters you’re trying to impress were in the same boat you were only about a year ago. To me, that means that hey, I can do this. I can get a job. I have skills and can make an impact in a business. The key is proving it.

A few trees here and there are slowly changing color. But on career fair day, it was about 1000 degrees and humid.

A few trees here and there are slowly changing color. But on career fair day, it was about 1000 degrees and humid.

The “real world” is fast approaching, whether we like it or not. When do you feel like an adult? Is it when you pay your own bills? When you’re the one who has to call the plumber or have insurance or get a loan? Because there are totally people my age who are doing all of those things, and have kids and work full-time. My attitude towards adulthood: other people are doing it and I can too! Seriously. Other people go out on their own with far less education, resources, and support than I have and do just fine. There’s no reason that I can’t do it too.

I still want to be everywhere- here, Milwaukee, and Chile- all at once. For this reason I’m considering jobs that would allow me to travel between all of these wonderful places and all of the awesome people there. I have a feeling that the constant pull towards other places/not wanting to leave anywhere, ever, will never go away. But there has to be a way. Right?

A perfect, clear day for remembrance of another perfect, clear day.

A perfect, clear day for remembrance of another perfect, clear day 12 years ago.

That’s all for now! Stay tuned…

Much love,

Gaby

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

