A marathon and a sprint

Well that was a fast two months since I last posted!

Hello everybody. How are you? I’m alive. And doing well. As I predicted, life got busy busy busy after that last post. There were essays to write and projects to present and life to be lived.

Summary:

I had a birthday! I wore a wool coat- the opposite of the shorts that I wore on my last birthday in Santiago. Despite it being a Monday, I was able to celebrate with a yummy dinner, a pisco cocktail (Peruvian, but you know what, it works), and trivia. It was everything I could have asked for a very unimportant birthday at the beginning of the week. There were no Taylor Swift songs involved, and I was quite happy about it. No photos- it seems like some of the most enjoyable nights are the ones that are the least documented.

After the birthday, there was Thanksgiving! Which of course meant that I got to go home and bake a bit. I arrived at home Tuesday night, and my baking ingredients were all ready to go. So I spent Wednesday throwing flour all over the place, and this was the result:

This was my second try at this pie crust. I threw the first one out. I didn't think this was a good sign for the rest of the day.

This was my second try at this pie crust. I threw the first one out. I didn’t think this was a good sign for the rest of the day.

This is the magic stuff.

This is the magic stuff.

Ready! I panicked for nothing. On the right is excess pie filling. I like to eat that for breakfast. With a side of real pie.

Ready! I panicked for nothing. On the right is excess pie filling. I like to eat that for breakfast. With a side of real pie.

I make the pumpkin pie mostly for myself. The real show-stopper is the apple pie.

This wasn't even all of the apples that I prepped for this pie. The rest I turned into an apple crisp.

This wasn’t even all of the apples that I prepped for this pie. The rest I turned into an apple crisp.

I seriously worried about the crust bursting and the pies overflowing into the oven. Why? Why does my mind work this way?

I seriously worried about the crust bursting and the pies overflowing into the oven. Why? Why does my mind work this way?

Turned out just fine. As always. And I could have fit the excess apples inside. Note to self: fruits cook down in heat. Duh...

Turned out just fine. As always. And I could have fit the excess apples inside. Note to self: fruit cooks down in heat. Duh…

Thanksgiving Day itself was lovely. My dad made an amazing dinner, and my mom and I were faithful sous chefs (okay, my mom was the sous chef, and the dishwasher. I mostly just took pictures and ate cheese and crackers.).

It's going to be an interesting Thanksgiving the first year that I try to reproduce this goodness. My standards are very high.

It’s going to be an interesting Thanksgiving the first year that I try to reproduce this goodness. My standards are very high.

Serving suggestion. Everything looks better with a filter on it, right?

Serving suggestion. Everything looks better with a filter on it, right?

The next morning, I ate pie for breakfast and drank way too much coffee. I ventured out at 4 AM for Black Friday shopping, then made a big second breakfast, and lazed the rest of the day away.

Because we didn't eat enough that weekend.

Because we didn’t eat enough that weekend.

And then I went back to school. I wrote a grant proposal to go back to Chile over winter break for thesis research. If I get it, my break will look something like this: home. Cookies. Christmas. New Year’s road trip. New York to Santiago. A week of Chilean summer. Back to winter. Unpack. Repack. Back to school.

If I don’t get the grant, my break will look like this: Cookies. Christmas. New Year’s road trip. Back home. More cookies. Sleep. Back to school.

Both of those possibilities sound pretty awesome, don’t you think?

Why did I title this “A marathon and a sprint?” Because since the last time I’ve posted, that is what things have felt like around here. It’s a marathon because I had to keep going, and it was a sprint because I had a lot to get done, in not a lot of time. It is finally slowing down to a jog, as I turn in final papers and finish up my holiday shopping (the Internet is amazing), and I’m hoping it will become a stroll by the time I come home next week. I am ready for the break. And I know that whatever this break is- whether it’s a nice jog through family parties and baking, or a pretty brisk run from the US to Santiago and back- it will be exactly what I need.

All right, I overdid the running metaphor there. Thanks for bearing with me. Maybe once my brain is a little more rested, you’ll get some more pictures of cookies, and some reflections on everything that has happened in the past year. Because 2013 has been a big one, hasn’t it? And I have a feeling that 2014 is going to give me even more.

With love,

Gaby

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A marathon and a sprint

  1. Pingback: Home for the holidays | Charlando

  2. I really expected to read about Your marathon running. As I told to You in my comment, my daughter Inca runs short marathons.

    Mikkeli Marathon – the Marathon of Thousand Lakes.

Leave a Reply

