That One Time I Wrote (Most of) a Thesis

Hello world!

I hope you have all enjoyed your spring breaks, or are enjoying them right now. I’m lucky enough to have a long weekend here on campus, which I am spending by catching up/getting ahead, sleeping, going to all of the church (The Triduum. Catholics know what’s up.), and watching Game of Thrones.

View from a quiet prayer walk this evening.

View from a quiet prayer walk this evening.

The week after the half-marathon, I submitted a complete (ish) draft of my thesis! It’s complete-ish because it was just a draft and there’s a good deal of new stuff I’ll be incorporating in revisions. My subject is the role and impact of theater education in Chilean schools. I found a way to combine everything I study into one! Ha ha! It’s much better this way. Trust me. Theses are work, and the people who didn’t actually like their topics sounded miserable at the end of it. I, on the other hand, still really enjoy what I’m working on.

So. For those of you who may be venturing into thesis projects in the future, here is how I did it:

1) Again, write on something in which you are genuinely interested. A thesis should be hard, but the good kind of hard. The kind of project you’d describe as a challenge and not as a pain in the butt. A boring or unenjoyable thesis topic will make it that much harder to get it done. The topic that you love will still have its obstacles, but you’ll be much more motivated to get through them because you actually care about the work you’re doing.

See the tip below. Another thing I did was create a visual marker, which for me was a drawing of a "block of marble" which I "chipped away at" as I went along.

See the tip below. Another thing I did was create a visual marker, which for me was a drawing of a “block of marble” which I “chipped away at” as I went along.

2) Chip away at it. I frequently used a timer while I was writing. I would set it for half an hour, and for that half hour I could not check email, Facebook, Instagram, or do anything else except change the song that was playing. You’d be surprised how much you can get written or edited in that amount of time! You maybe only need a half hour to an hour every day to work if you start early and are prepared enough. Working in those short bursts of time, I’ve found, is much better mentally and creatively than attempting to turn out large quantities of writing over a period of hours and hours.

3) Start early. If you’re like me, sometimes you need a little deadline pressure to keep you focused and motivated. That doesn’t mean that it’s a good idea for me to start at the last minute. I was very lucky to have a supportive advisor who requested meetings almost every week, and who made me submit chapter drafts every other week. This kept me on track, and made the looming complete draft deadline much less scary.

4) Get a buddy. Do you have a friend or classmate who is working on a similar topic? Or even just a thesis? Make library dates and go with them. You may find that you’re more focused if someone is sitting right there next to you writing and writing, and you’ll be less likely to spend half an hour on BuzzFeed quizzes. You’ll be able to talk out your problems together, or at the very least joke about chapter titles, share yummy snacks, and take those quizzes together.

Coffee can help too, of course.

Coffee can help too, of course.

5) Sleep and exercise as much as you can. Maybe for you, that means you’ll invest in nap time, or you’ll take brief walks. One of our professors said she started her yoga practice while she was writing her dissertation. I trained for a half-marathon. Exercise is so crucial to relieving stress and to clearing your mind. It’s also great for the creative process. You let your mind wander and you never know what kinds of solutions you’ll come up with! Getting enough sleep should be obvious. You have to give your brain and body time to reset, and there is no substitute or equivalent for sleep. No, coffee does not really count. If only.

6) When you’re done with a draft, you’re done. Let it be done until it’s time for revisions. You will have better insights if you give yourself a decent amount of time before you dive right back into it. You know how you can stare at a picture for a very long time and after a certain point you don’t even know what you’re looking at anymore? Writing is the same way. Let it go. (And watch some YouTube videos or something.)

46 pages, plus appendix and bibliography. It's legit.

46 pages, plus appendix and bibliography. It’s legit.

Right now I’m between number 6 and what will be number 7, making revisions. When I figure out that whole process- which will have to happen in a much shorter period of time than I had to write the whole thing- you’ll hear from me.

The day that I submitted my thesis draft, my mom arrived for my dorm’s Mother-Daughter Weekend! It was lovely. There was wine and tapas.

That wine was Chilean and it was awesome.

That wine was Chilean (duh) and it was awesome.

I was obsessed with this salad. Yeah, it had fruit and cheese and stuff but come on. It was delicious.

I was obsessed with this salad. Yeah, it had fruit and cheese and stuff but come on. It was delicious.

Lobster bites in a fantastic garlic cream sauce and then grilled pita bread. Gah.

Lobster bites in a fantastic garlic cream sauce and then grilled pita bread. Gah.

And then there were nachos.

I love that I have a mom who craved nachos all day and felt zero guilt ordering the deluxe nacho platter at the sports bar.

I love that I have a mom who craved nachos all day and felt zero guilt ordering the deluxe nacho platter at the sports bar.

Oh, and there was brunch.

I got the peaches and cream oatmeal. It was good. It could have used more streusel topping. (I mean really, what couldn't use more streusel topping?)

I got the peaches and cream oatmeal. It was good. It could have used more streusel topping. (I mean really, what couldn’t use more streusel topping?)

My mom ordered what I should have gotten, which was the waffle sandwich with eggs and bacon and maple syrup on top. Woof.

My mom ordered what I should have gotten, which was the waffle sandwich with eggs and bacon and maple syrup on top. Woof.

And now here we are and it’s exactly one month until my graduation. I’m gonna let that be, but all I will say is that I had an interview for what would be a pretty great job in Chicago last weekend, and I really really want this to work out (seriously, kids. Ask my friends and family how badly I want this job.), so I would appreciate all of your good vibes, prayers, and love. Please and thank you!

My dear friend and fellow baking devotee E. took me around her neighborhood while I was in Chicago. I loved it. So much.

My dear friend and fellow baking devotee E. took me around her neighborhood while I was in Chicago. I loved it. So much.

Special thanks go to my friends C. and E., who without even blinking fixed their schedules to hang out with me in Chicago before and after the interview. Your support means the world to me! It also kept me from getting lost on public transportation in a city I don’t know. So yeah, I owe you.

Goodness gracious. So more than 1100 words later, I will leave you with this YouTube video (which should lead you to her two other equally fantastic talks), which has stuck in my brain recently.

This says, "Where are you coming from?" On the other corner it says, "Where are you going?" The questions, you know?

I will also leave you with this Instagram. This says, “Where are you coming from?” On the other corner it says, “Where are you going?” You know. The questions.

With love,

Gaby

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

