Meanwhile…(A Summer Photo Summary)

Oh hey!

Sorry for the radio silence. I was just graduating. And then my brothers both graduated (excellent timing, parents). And then after all of that, I had three weeks of summer.

I could tell you lots about all of the fun things I did. I could have written at some point in the past two months. But you know, sometimes it’s better to live in the moment, rather than think about how you’re going to share it with people on the Internet.

I can share a little bit of it though. In pictures!

I spent a lot of time in church at these graduations. #catholicschools

I spent a lot of time in church at these graduations. This was my own senior Mass. #catholicschools

Church #2 for one brother's graduation Mass.

Church #2 for one brother’s graduation Mass.

We took a quick trip out to Omaha. I don’t know what it is about Omaha- it can’t just be Berkshire Hathaway, right?- but it’s actually pretty cool.

The Kerrey Pedestrian Bridge connects Omaha, NE with Council Bluffs, IA, and crosses the Missouri River.

The Kerrey Pedestrian Bridge connects Omaha, NE with Council Bluffs, IA, and crosses the Missouri River.

See? Two places at once! Does this remind anyone else of A Walk to Remember?

See? Two places at once! Does this remind anyone else of A Walk to Remember?

The nicest views of Omaha might be from Iowa.

The nicest views of Omaha might be from Iowa.

Probably the best part of Omaha- given what we could see in two days- was the food.

That thing about Omaha steaks being really good is actually true. This is a bone-in filet mignon (yes, it exists!). Notice how there's nothing else on the plate. The meat is that good.

That thing about Omaha steaks being really good is actually true. This is a bone-in filet mignon (yes, it exists!). Notice how there’s nothing else on the plate. The meat is that good.

An ice cream neon light detail at Ted and Wally's Ice Cream.

An ice cream neon light detail at Ted and Wally’s Ice Cream.

Coconut and ube (purple yam) ice cream. The color was fantastic. As was the taste.

Coconut and ube (purple yam) ice cream. The color was fantastic. As was the taste.

They even have a cupcake shop. That makes it a legit city, right?

They even have a cupcake shop. That makes it a legit city, right?

And then we stopped off in Iowa for a little bit of barbecue at Jethro's. Jethro's was featured on Man v. Food. My eyes were 10x bigger than my stomach.

And then we stopped off in Iowa for a little bit of barbecue at Jethro’s. Jethro’s was featured on Man v. Food. My eyes were 10x bigger than my stomach.

The rest of my break was mostly spent hanging around my beautiful hometown of Milwaukee. After looking through the pictures, I realized I ate a lot- like, a LOT- of ice cream.

A mint marshmallow Oreo sundae from one of my favorite ice cream places in town, Lee's Dairy Treat. The color of the mint sauce was unnaturally green. But it was exactly what I wanted.

A mint marshmallow Oreo sundae from one of my favorite ice cream places in town, Lee’s Dairy Treat. The color of the mint sauce was unnaturally green. But it was exactly what I wanted.

Requisite Brewers game. (I write this as the Cardinals have now tied them for first and it's upsetting.)

Requisite Brewers game. (I write this as the Cardinals have now tied them for first and it’s upsetting.)

Kopp's Frozen Custard. A Milwaukee staple.

Kopp’s Frozen Custard. A Milwaukee staple.

Leon's Frozen Custard. Another Milwaukee staple. A big question for Milwaukeeans is: Kopp's or Leon's?

Leon’s Frozen Custard. Another Milwaukee staple. A big question for Milwaukeeans is: Kopp’s or Leon’s?

(I wasn’t kidding about the ice cream/frozen custard.)

The Milwaukee Art Museum. We call this the Calatrava, named after its architect, Santiago Calatrava.

The Milwaukee Art Museum. We call this the Calatrava, named after its architect, Santiago Calatrava.

A nice message on a wall in the Third Ward.

A nice message on the side of a building  in the Third Ward.

I hope to be back on a regular (weekly) posting schedule soon. Stay tuned for how this blog will be shifting over the next few months. Preview: I have a job! I’m cooking for myself. I’m living in places I’ve never lived in before. You can bet there’s lots to write about!

With love,

Gaby

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Meanwhile…(A Summer Photo Summary)

  1. Pingback: Riding Solo and My Hotel Kitchen | Charlando

  2. Ali Nunez

    I love your bog, keep on writing !!

Leave a Reply

